Bernie – enters the building

Last night I was assigned to photograph and event for Bernie in Beverly and I really needed something fast as we were on deadline. I know quite a few of these people having photographed them in the past so I knew the potential was there for some fun interesting images. I was talking to the reporter and all of a sudden Bernie entered the room on the back of a well known democrat from Marblehead. To the untrained eye you would say good moment nice photo but so much more went into making this image. The light in this place was cave worthy. The ISO was 10,000! I needed a shutter speed of at least 1/100s to stop the action and my f-stop was wide open at f4 on my 24-70 f4 L. I sold my 24-70 2.8 which would have made this easier. But I digress. The auto white balance on the Canon 5D Mk3 is really good but when the light is this low and with incandescent lights yellow is what you get. Manual white balance at 2500K brought this image back to reality. So I had to reset both cameras then remember to reset them when I left.

1007163453 MA_BC_bernie1kw
Linda Weltner of Marblehead hauls in the giant Bernie replica for the Bernie Sanders rally at the ICC in Beverly on primary night Tuesday, March 1, 2016. Wicked Local Staff Photo/Kirk R. Williamson

When Hillary came on the TV I started to focus on some of the other people in the room to get some reaction. These folks were yelling at the TV and just showing some real disgust at what she was saying. Made for at least one good image.

1007163453 MA_BC_bernie3kw
John Penaloza of Rockport and Susan Wadia-Ells of Manchester show disgust at Hillary Clinton’s speech during the Bernie Sanders rally at the ICC in Beverly on primary night Tuesday, March 1, 2016. Wicked Local Staff Photo/Kirk R. Williamson
Leave a Reply

