Stickwork at the PEM – The story behind the photo

stikworks-4
Stickwork by Patrick Doherty @ Peabody Essex Museum

On the verge of the month of October where the city of Salem MA turns into a giant gobblin fest I thought I would post a couple of my favorite shots from there. Last year I had to go into Salem on assignment and was astonished by the giant stick sculptures on the corner of Hawthorne Blvd and Essex St. They were enormous and very spooky looking. I had the Leica M-P 240 with me and just by chance had brought my dad’s 28mm Elmarit V1 with me. I had used this lens quite a bit on the M9 I had and fell in love with it. Since then I have used it on the M quite a few times. At the time I did not have the electronic viewfinder so I played around with the live view a bit. The exposure can be a little off (not much) if you use this version of the 28. The rear element recedes past the mount and back into the camera and is close to the sensor. This creates some minor purple fringing on the sides and will sometimes affect the exposure. So what I did was focus with the rangefinder and then frame with live view. Once I had the exposure I put the shutter speed on manual and made more exposures using live view to frame the photos. I could have used the frame lines but I was experimenting with live view. There were so many combinations of Stickwork that I liked but this one is the one I like best.

stikworks-3
Stickwork by Patrick Doherty @ Peabody Essex Museum

Post processing was done in Lightroom and then in Silver Efex Pro for the B&W conversions. I love the spooky look to these images.

Leave a Reply

