Trip Down Maine -The story behind the photo

This past May I helped a friend bring his newly purchased sailboat down from Sorrento Maine. It was a heck of a wild trip. We were motoring a sailboat into the wind and waves for a few hundred miles to Newburyport MA. The wind was not cooperating as it was coming from the direction we wanted to go. I did not want to bring expensive photo gear with me as I knew it was going to be wet and wild (rough). So I opted for my Canon G15 which has brought me some super images over the years. Early morning is a great time to make some quality images as most times the water is smooth and gives some great reflections.

katannatripbw-2
Lobster boats, Sorrento Harbor Maine. Canon G15   ISO 400  17.423mm  1/320 sec f6.3 

While I was waiting for the owner and our skipper to bring the boat in some nice images presented themselves.

katannatripbw-1
Tender in water reflections, Sorrento Harbor Maine. Canon G15  11.817mm  ISO 400  1/250 sec f4

 

Leave a Reply

