The Off – Kilter Door

Exploring with the camera can be fun! When I am out for a walk in the morning unexpected scenes pop up from time to time. I think I have been down the side of the Rockport Harbor next to the Motif dozens of times. But for some reason the other day I wandered farther down than I have before. Several lobstermen have their shacks nearby and this is one of them. It’s very cool looking. The weather beaten shingles, the anchor, porthole, Rockport spelled out in letters, and the fish net in the window. I love the way the door fits perfectly in the frame but is not quite straight. Immediately I thought of this as a B&W since the colors were gray. I used Silver Efex Pro 2 to convert this image and I picked out a preset I liked which gave it some contrast. The contrast range is not extreme but the middle of the porthole is zone 1 and the brightest spot on the shingles is somewhere around a zone 7 or 8 which to me is ok. This image looks flatter here than in Photoshop or Lightroom.

walk10-15-16-5
Fish shack, Rockport Oct. 2016  Leica M-P 240  35mm Summicron  ISO 200  1/750s  f11
Leave a Reply

