Man at the Wheel and Moon

For the past couple of weeks I have been working on developing a digital photography course I am teaching. One of the main points that I try to get across to my students is visualization. As photographers we often find ourselves visualizing a subject for months sometimes years. We drive by it numerous times, at different times of the year and different times of day. I for one think about possible images all the time. I call this pre-visualization. For me this involves thinking about the best time of day and year to make an image of a certain subject. I had been thinking of making a shot of the Man at the Wheel Statue in Gloucester for many years. I just did not want it to look like everyone else’s, at sunset, or with waves crashing. I wanted it to set a mood, a feeling, this was my vision of it. The statue represents “they that go down to the sea in ships”. So my idea was to make an image of the statue from behind looking out at the harbor, but with a twist. I brought an eight ft. ladder with me and mounted a ball head to the top of it so I could use it as a giant tripod. The ladder gave me just the right amount of height to show the harbor. I knew the moon was going to be somewhere in the shot I just did not know where until I had the image set. I chose early morning for the image because at sea early morning is a magical time. The final image is just how I envisioned it with very little work in Photoshop. Holding the moon in balance was not an issue and it exposed correctly. I think it worked out quite well.

manwheel_blog
Canon 1D Mkll  with Canon 16-35
Leave a Reply

